Hello from the Librarian

Recently a group of students came in to the library where I work.  They were recording a skit, and asked to have their “librarian” sit behind the help desk.  I was very excited about their scheme…until I saw their librarian.  Big glasses (with chain)- check. Hair in a bun- check. Sweater buttoned only at the top button-check.  She hit all of the librarian stereotypes, and inadvertently hit one of my biggest sore spots, librarian stereotypes.

This blog is about the personal and professional experience of being a librarian. I plan to explore (and explode) stereotypes, discuss technological innovations, concerns, triumphs and share interesting links.  Occasionally, pictures and stories of my dogs will wriggle in, as they seem to find their way everywhere else!

Happy reading everyone!

EllieK,

About Ellie Kohler

I'm the Access and Learning Services Librarian at Rockhurst University, and was a founding member of the ILL Special Interest Group. My specialties include interlibrary loan, instruction, reference, circulation, reserves, and wrangling 40 (or so) student assistants. I continue to defy the librarian stereotype by keeping a cat-free household.
This entry was posted in Stereotypes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

